How are users managed?

In this article you will learn how to administer user and user authorisations.

Content

Which permissions are required to create users?

In order to create users, the authorisation "User management" is required. This article explains how to create users: How do I create users?.

Which permissions are required to manage users?

To be able to manage users, also the authorisation "User management" is required.

Where are users managed?

If the right authorisation is set, the User screen is available in the menu on the left-hand side. Here you can use the search field to search for specific users and use the 3-dot menu in the table view to edit, delete and, if necessary, deactivate users. You also have the option of resetting the password if required and requesting a security report by e-mail, in which, for example, changes to the user are documented. It is also possible to set various filters on the right next to the search bar. Further information can be found in How can I filter or adapt the screens?.

The editing menu can also be accessed by clicking anywhere on a user.

Which settings can be applied for users?

Clicking on a user or selecting "Edit" from the 3-point menu, opens the editing menu. Here general settings such as title, name, language and contact information can be defined.

Authorisations can also be managed here, and can be set to company-wide, or restricted to the client or process levels respectively.

In addition, e-mail status notifications can be activated for specific clients, and invoices can be set to open in a new window by default.

In order to apply any changed settings, click on "Save". To cancel any changed settings, click on "Cancel".

Assigning authorisations

The assignments determine which clients, and invoices thereof, appear to a given user. The permissions for managing these invoices are defined in more detail in the section Adjusting Permissions.

Company

This assigns company-wide authorisations. If a company is assigned here, the user has access to all the clients assigned to that company as well as their documents.

Client

If a users should only have access to specific clients and their documents, the level of authorisation can be adjusted here to assign those clients.

Process

If a users should only have access to specific document types, or specific document types of specific clients, the level of authorisation can be adjusted further here.

Adjusting permissions

Finmatics offers a lot of freedom and simplicity when assigning permissions. In order to save time, predefined user roles have been created. These can be adapted to suit individual requirements at any time by clicking "Adapt permissions". Clicking "Reset permissions" will reset the current role to the default settings.

Preset User Roles

Selecting a user role automatically assigns its predefined permissions to that user. The permissions which are allocated to each role are detailed below. However, each role can be individually adapted to suit individual requirements by clicking "Customize permissions".

  • Accountant
    Accountants can upload invoices, confirm page separation, complete and capture invoices, delete and restore invoices, manage client masterdata, view and edit exported invoices, and view documents of other users.

  • Business Admin
    Business Admins can upload invoices, confirm page separation, approve invoices, delete and restore invoices, manage users, and view invoices of other users, including exported invoices.

  • Management
    Management can upload invoices, confirm page separation, complete and capture invoices, delete and restore invoices, manage users, manage client and company masterdata, and view invoices of other users, including exported invoices. 

  • Upload User
    Upload users can upload invoices and confirm page separation.

  • Approval User
    Approval users can upload invoices, confirm page separation, approve invoices, and view documents of other users.

Setting individual permissions manually

The following are the permissions which can be customised to suit individual requirements, as well as their functions:

  • Upload invoices
    Allows users to upload and scan invoices to Finmatics.

  • Confirm page separation
    Allows users to edit and confirm the page separation of invoices with the status “restructure”.

  • Complete invoices
    Allows users to edit all fields in the input screen (including accounting fields) of an invoice and enables the “invoices” section on the menu on the left-hand side.

  • Capture invoices
    Allows users to edit all non-accounting fields in the data entry screen of an invoice to prepare them for accountants. These fields include dates, invoice numbers, transaction figures, and other information which invoices may contain. Items like account numbers cannot be filled out. The “invoices” section on the menu on the left-hand side is also enabled.

  • Delete and restore invoices
    Allows users to delete invoices and restore them from the trash (for the purposes of which the “trash” section is enabled on the left-hand menu).

  • Approve invoices
    Enables the “workflows” section on the left-hand menu, allowing users to see and approve all invoices which they are allowed to approve. To find out more, visit the Invoice Approval article.

  • User management
    Enables the “users” section on the left-hand menu, in which permissions and authorisations can be assigned, as described in this article.

  • Client Masterdata management
    Enables the “clients” section on the left-hand menu, in which clients masterdata can be viewed and edited.

  • Company Masterdata management (Create and synchronise clients)
    Allows users to synchronise and create clients as well as manage company masterdata. To find out more, visit How do I manage my company masterdata?

This permission is particularly important for the synchronisation of client masterdata and training data by API users.

  • Export invoices
    Allows users to export invoices.

  • View exported invoices
    Allows users to view exported invoices.

  • Edit exported invoices
    Allows users to edit exported invoices.

This permission is also particularly important for the synchronisation of client masterdata and training data by API users.

  • View Documents of other Users
    Allows users, within any restrictions caused by other set permissions, to view documents other users have uploaded.

Suggested settings for staff and client permissions

Clients

  • Authorisation: Client

  • Permissions: Upload

These settings allow a client to scan/upload their invoices into the online portal and only see documents that have been uploaded by their user. The permission "View documents of other users" can also be set to allow the client to see all invoices (and their statuses) company-wide. If the client is to separate and/or complete their own invoices, these permissions can also be set.

If the client should only upload certain types of invoices, these can also be selected individually in the Assignments section.

Secretary

  • Authorisation: Company-wide

  • Permissions: Upload, Confirm page separation

These settings allow an employee to upload invoices for all of the company's clients as well as to check and confirm the page separation for all of their uploaded invoices. If an employee should also be able to work with invoices other users have uploaded, the permission "View documents of other users" can be set. If these documents should also be completed, "Complete documents" can also be set.

If the employee should only be scanning and/or completing invoices for specific clients, these can also be selected individually in the Assignments section.

Accountant

  • Authorisation: Company-wide

  • Permissions: View documents of other users, Upload, Confirm page separation, Complete invoices, Capture invoices

These settings allow an employee to view the documents of all clients across company and edit them regardless of status. If the accountant should also be able to invite and manage clients, "Client master data management" can also be set.

If the employee should only do the accounting for specific clients, these can also be selected individually in the Assignments section.

Administrator

  • Authorisation: Company-wide

  • Permissions: All 

For administrators, it is usually advisable to assign all permissions at the company level, so that they can manage users without restriction.

Restrictions can serve a purpose here too. The most essential permissions for administrators are user management and client master data management.